• ICC have released the complete list of winners.

  • Steve Smith won the ICC Test Cricketer of the Decade award.

A day after releasing ‘Team of the Decade’, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has now announced ‘Player of the Decade’ awards.

India captain Virat Kohli has been picked as the One-Day International Player of the Decade. At the same time, Australian superstar Steve Smith has been chosen as Test Player of the Decade. Similarly, in the T20I, Rashid Khan has been honoured with the award.

Kohli has scored 10,000-plus ODI runs in the past decade, with 39 hundreds, and 48 half-centuries. The Delhi-lad averaged 61.83 and caught 112 catches as well. Kohli also won the Sir Garfield Sobers Award for ICC Male Cricketer of the Decade.

When it comes to Smith, he has clubbed 7040 Test runs during the period at a phenomenal average of 65.79. The former Aussie skipper has also smashed 26 centuries and 28 fifties.

The Afghanistani star Rashid is the highest wicket-taker in the past decade with as many as 89 scalps to his name. He has averaged 12.62 while claiming three four-wicket hauls, and two five-fors.

Former India skipper MS Dhoni received the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award of the Decade. The Ranchi-lad was chosen by fans unanimously for his gesture of calling back England batsman Ian Bell after an unusual run-out incident in the Nottingham Test in 2011.

When it comes to women cricket, Australian all-rounder Ellyse Perry won both Women’s ODI and T20I cricketer of the Decade. Perry was also named as the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Awardee for ICC Female Cricketer of the Decade.

Earlier, on Sunday, the ICC had announced the teams of the decade in Test, ODI and T20I formats. Kohli was named as the skipper of the Test side, while the ODI and T20I sides are led by Dhoni.

Here is the complete list of winners:

  • Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Decade: Virat Kohli
  • Men’s Test Cricketer of the Decade: Steve Smith
  • Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Decade: Rashid Khan
  • ICC Male Cricketer of the Decade: Virat Kohli
  • Female Cricketer of the Decade: Ellyse Perry
  • Women’s ODI and T20I cricketer of the Decade: Ellyse Perry
  • ICC Spirit of Cricket Award: MS Dhoni


This post is auto generated from our Sources using automated computer software. We are not editing or creating this story. Therefore the Site is not responsible for any of this content.

Leave a Reply